Taiyaki Shop

Taiyaki Shop: Shinjuku Tsubakian in Ikebukuro

I’ve been meaning to visit Kawagoe 川越市 for awhile now, and with the beautiful weather yesterday morning, I thought it’d be the day.  By the time we got to Ikebukuro Station, the wind picked up so all of the trains stopped until they could travel more safely.  Not wanting to wait around indefinitely, I strolled around Ikebukuro instead, where I spotted this small taiyaki shop (pronounced: tie-yah-key).

Taiyaki Shop: Shinjuku Tsubakian in Ikebukuro

Taiyaki is a Japanese sweet snack made from pancake batter, cooked in a fish-shaped mold, and stuffed with red bean paste.  It can be filled with other things such as chocolate, custard, or cheese, but red bean paste is the most common and traditional.

Taiyaki Shop: Shinjuku Tsubakian in Ikebukuro

Shinjuku Tsubakian is owned by a sweet woman, who is nothing but smiles and polite words.  She cooks everything to order so your taiyaki is fresh, hot, and crunchy!  Everything is homemade, and her shop specializes in thick crust teriyaki for 150 yen.

Taiyaki Shop: Shinjuku Tsubakian in Ikebukuro

Taiyaki Shop: Shinjuku Tsubakian in Ikebukuro

新宿椿庵 池袋店 Shinjuku Tsubakian

3丁目-13-9 Minamiikebukuro, Toshima, Tokyo, Japan
+81 3-5950-7887
http://tubakian.jp

5 thoughts on “Taiyaki Shop

    • How have I not seen this? Or maybe I passed by none the wiser. It’s so close to my place – I’ll go there this weekend! *nom nom nom* :) No need to be embarassed. I swear the people at the convini by my house probably know me as the ‘ice cream girl’!

  1. Pingback: Kawagoe: A Day in Historic Japan | oh my omiyage

Leave a Reply

