A Simple Dessert Bar

Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Frosting by oh my omiyageI’m all about the dessert so when I plan a party, it’s hard for me to narrow it down to just one!  Naturally, I love a dessert bar.  It sweetens up the decor and adds anticipation for the rest of the meal.  Plus, I love the guests’ ooohs and ahhhs as they investigate.  This is especially great for kids – they light up when they spot the sweets, and it’s a great bribe to behave until the end of dinner!

Chocolate Cream and Banana Cream Pudding by oh my omiyageTip: finish cooking the desserts before your guests arrive.  When the guests spot all of the sugar and butter that goes into some of these sweet treats, it can hold them back from fully enjoying the desserts later on.  No reason to make your guests feel more guilty!

Japanese Girls Day Treats from oh my omiyageMy dessert bar this time included vanilla cupcakes with strawberry cream cheese frosting, chocolate cream and banana cream pudding, treats for Japanese girls day (cherry blossom marshmallows, puffed rice, strawberry Pocky), and a cheese round topped with honey and dried fruit.

Simple Dessert Bar by oh my omiyageFor more ideas for a dessert bar, check out my Cocktails & Canape Party last year!

12 thoughts on “A Simple Dessert Bar

  1. Oh my, you have me salivating this early in the morning =_=;

    But the colors are so pretty! I bet they taste as good as they look

  2. I love this idea! I want to have a fun tea party with my girlfriends in the spring and I think a desert bar would be perfect for that.

    • I agree! Plus I found out recently that one of my friends doesn’t like fruit of any type. If I knew that, I would have made a dessert bar when they came over instead of serving an apple pie! lol

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Frosting Sugar Cookie Sandwich | oh my omiyage

  4. Pingback: How To: Asian Taco Bar | oh my omiyage

Leave a Reply

