Indoor Hanami Party

Indoor Hanami Party by oh my omiyageI’m so ready for spring, and although the weather hasn’t caught up with me, I warmed up my apartment with a hanami party this weekend!

Indoor Hanami Party by oh my omiyage

‘Hanami’ literally means ‘looking at flowers’ in Japanese, and every year when the cherry blossoms bloom, people flock to the parks and picnic beneath the pink cherry blossoms – called hanami parties.  Even though the blossoms bloom near the end of March, it’s typically still chilly so I brought the flowers (and the party) indoors with Japanese-inspired table details.

Indoor Hanami Party by oh my omiyage

My vases were inspired by obi (the sash wrapping a kimono).  I finally used my kozogami washi paper!Indoor Hanami Party by oh my omiyage

Place cards were fashioned using washi tissue paper and fun spring quotes!  Stay tuned for the DIY tutorial later this week :)

Indoor Hanami Party by oh my omiyage

Indoor Hanami Party by oh my omiyage

All of the flowers put me in the perfect mood for spring!

13 thoughts on “Indoor Hanami Party

  1. A fond memory I have is hanami in 上野公園, enjoying sunny weather, yakitori and umeshu. If I had to do indoors, though, you definitely have the right colors for it :)

    • That’s definitely one of the best places to do it! Ueno park is beautiful during hanami season :) But when the sun goes down, I need enough umeshu in my body to warm up! Haha

    • Thanks Vivian! :) I was only able to take a few pics of the food (what happens when you’re the cook and photographer :X). I’ll share what the few I shot tomorrow!

  2. I am not Japanese (Belgian actually), but Japan has a big place in my heart. I have lived in Japan for a while and I blog about Japan regularly. Haruko is my blogging alter ego.

Leave a Reply

