Strawberry French Toast

English-Muffin-French-Toast

Lately, I’ve been searching for new breakfast recipes to change up our morning routine. Mornings are always difficult because I wake up with a head filled with to-do lists and hope-to-do lists, and there’s nothing I love more than getting some of those checked off asap.  So when it comes to breakfast, I usually just whip up something easy peasy within 10 minutes tops to satiate our stomachs until brunch lunch rolls around.  My husband works from home more these days, and those quick meals just weren’t cutting it anymore since we have more time to sit down together and enjoy a nice breakfast.  So off I went in search for recipes!English-Muffin-French-Toast Filled with Strawberries

It’s amazing how many unappetizing-looking breakfasts there are out there – especially if you search for healthy ones.  No judgement here since it’s great to have breakfast at all, and I definitely understand the need for beauty sleep and health.  But when my search efforts ended in oatmeal, buckwheat, muesli mixed mush and tons of shakes and blends, I just couldn’t handle it.  The thought of those liquidized and mushy foods make me think of hospitals.  I found so many of those ‘healthy’ foods that I jumped at the first sweet and sugary recipe I came across – french toast.

English-Muffin-French-Toast Filled with Strawberries

French toast is an oldie, but I thought I’d change it up using English muffins.  To make it a bit healthier, I lightened the sugar and fat content a bit and topped it with tons of Japanese strawberries!  Because fruit makes everything healthier, right?  Plus, the color looks fabulous and the sourness of the strawberries balances well with the sweetness of the syrup.

This would make a great Valentine’s Day breakfast for your loved one.  If you can’t find strawberries, feel free to substitute it with any fruit you can find.  Berries, nectarines, and peaches would work beautifully too, and you can also mix and match!

English-Muffin-French-Toast Filled with Strawberries

Strawberry-Filled English Muffin French Toast
Serves 2
Prep 10 minutes – Cooking Time 15 minutes

2 tbsp canola oil
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp sugar
Dash of vanilla
2 English Muffins
1 cup strawberries, diced
Powdered sugar, Whipped Cream, and Maple Syrup (for serving)

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees C. Whisk egg, milk, sugar, and vanilla in a bowl until sugar dissolves. Cut or separate each of the English muffins. Submerge the muffin halves in the mixture, ensuring both sides are saturated. Drain slightly before transferring it to a clean plate. Repeat for all 4 halves.

2. Heat the oil in a pan on medium heat. Place the 2 muffin halves onto the pan at a time for 2-3 minutes per side, or until golden brown. Flip and repeat.

3. Place the muffins on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Place it into the oven for about 5 minutes, or until they’re no longer wet.

4. Transfer the muffins to 2 plates, top generously with strawberries, a dollop of whipped cream, and a dusting of powdered sugar. Serve with maple syrup.

18 thoughts on “Strawberry French Toast

  1. This looks great. Breakfast is my favorite meal, right after dinner but before lunch.

    I went to few kissatens and without fail there was always a sort of french toast pastry with a heaping mound of whipped cream. This suit me fine as I can survive handily on that kind of diet.

    • Hahaha I wish I could “survive handily” on that diet too!! I’m so jealous :) Kissatens love their whipped cream, don’t they? I guess that’s why I fit in here :) Are you also located in Tokyo or Japan? I’m always happy to meet new bloggers in the area!

Leave a Reply

