Kamakura Vegetables

Japan is notorious for its fads.  They sweep through the nation, and their fervor and fleetingness are a great example of the strength of Japanese group mentality and culture.  It’s unlike any other culture I’ve experienced.  Vegetables from Kamakura – a laid back, beachside town close to Enoshima – are one of the current trends.

Kamakura-Vegetables - Japanese Vegetables

Every morning, there’s a busy local farmer’s market, and many restaurants head there early to pick up the most sought-after vegetables.  My husband woke up early enough to go to the market in time (5:30am!), and he brought back these wonderful omiyage for me while I snuggled warmly in bed :)  All of the vegetables were so crisp, sweet, and fresh.  I can see why they are so in demand!

DSC_0122My favorite is this purple daikon!  Don’t you just love the vibrant, natural colors of quality vegetables?

14 thoughts on “Kamakura Vegetables

  1. Oh, it’s a trend? I was in Kamakura last week and noticed ‘Kamakura vegetables’ on the menu, I just thought they were being proud of their local produce. If you’re looking for a good place for lunch, I recommend this restaurant, they make their own ginger syrup for an amazing hot ginger drink: http://www.mugimaru.net. The pizza was great, too.

    • Oh another Tokyo blogger! It’s so nice to meet you :) This restaurant looks adorable. I’ll have to check it out next time I’m in the area. I’m always up for a hot ginger drink! Do you go to Kamakura often?

      • Nice to meet you, too! I live in Shinagawa, so I can get to Kamakura in about an hour. It’s the place I go when I want a day out of Tokyo to unwind a little. I don’t go so often, but am always glad when I do. Yes, the restaurant was lovely, as is the Japanese restaurant right next door to it, called Kusunoki.

      • We often go to Kamakura and the surrounding areas during the summer to go to the beach, but I don’t go that often during the winters. I’ll have to make my way over there sometime soon and check out these restaurants!

Leave a Reply

