Fat Matt’s Rib Shack

DSC_1035Happy belated new year, folks!  I’ve been away on holiday travel + more, and I can’t wait to update you all on my great finds and projects.  First, I went back home to revisit my roots down south in Atlanta, and boy – the city’s changed.  I’d actually love to live somewhere downtown now, and it’s caught up with so many of the fads that I couldn’t live without when I was in LA.  (I’m sure there’s new fads in LA that I’m just unaware of being in Japan now.)  Despite all of the newness, my brother made sure that Fat Matt’s Rib Shack was my first pit stop – a place that oozes the soul of the south.

DSC_1047DSC_1039 DSC_1042

Does anything say the ‘south’ more than BBQ ribs, mac & cheese, baked beans, and super sweet iced tea?  I think not.  Add in a few extra sides of BBQ sauce with thick white bread to sop it all up.  Yup definitely a southerner.

DSC_1044

And if all of that wasn’t enough, Fat Matt’s is famous for their lives blues bands.  They have a pretty impressive resume of bands, and that night was no exception.  My heart felt whole when I heard them sing, “Georgia… Georgia…”

DSC_1054

4 thoughts on “Fat Matt’s Rib Shack

  1. Pingback: Miss Shirley’s Cafe: Baltimore | oh my omiyage

Leave a Reply

