Foil Foul Footwear

Get rid of smelly shoes and boots using aluminum foil

In this cold weather, I make sure to keep my feet nice and toasty with boots.  But when I go indoors or walk a long time, I’ll admit – my feet sometimes get too toasty.  One of my worst fears is smelly boots.  Luckily, here’s a great, easy solution using something you definitely have in your house – aluminum foil!  Here’s how:

Remove your ‘humid’ boots.  Tear off 6 pieces of foil about 1ft x 1ft and roll each into a loose ball.  Drop the balls of foil into your boots – 3 in each.  Leave the boots alone for at least 30 minutes and voila!  Perfectly un-smelly boots!

Get rid of smelly shoes and boots using aluminum foil

Helpful hint: I keep a bin of new foil balls, ready to be dropped in right when I take off my shoes.

Get rid of smelly shoes and boots using aluminum foil

12 thoughts on “Foil Foul Footwear

  1. We used to do this when I was a kid. We would also put our feet in bread bags before into shoes if it was going to be wet but we didn’t want to wear boots. That will certainly make your feet stinky though if you leave them on when you go inside!

    • It’s something about the humidity in your shoes that reacts with the metals in the foil. And something about ions being emitted. Haha that’s as far as I know!

Leave a Reply

