A Throwback

Catcher in the RyeI eyed this copy of Catcher in the Rye at a popular used bookstore chain here called Book Off.  I’ve been wanting to re-read the classics for awhile now.  Well for many of them, it’d be my first read since last time I “read” the Cliff Notes version.  At the time, I was impressed by how many term papers and discussions I could pass off without having to read a page.  The teachers must have known I’m sure!

Catcher in the Rye

Back to my point, I’m hoping that I’ll appreciate these books more this time around.  So far, Catcher in the Rye hasn’t disappointed!  It’s such a great read that I haven’t been able to put it down.  It’s witty and funny, and I have a friend who is exactly like Holden.  For some reason, I remember there being a lot more 4-letter words in it when I first read it, but maybe I was just shocked that our teacher allowed us to read something with any cuss words in it at all.

After this, I’m hoping to hit Gatsby, Huck Finn, and some Hemingway.  Have you gone back to read the classics?  What are your favorites?

P.S. The colorful and yummy salt water taffy in the picture is courtesy of the wonderful Erica from Dogs Make Everything Better via our international foodie pen pal exchange.  Stay tuned for the next round if you’d like to join!

8 thoughts on “A Throwback

  1. The only classic I cling onto since childhood is the Secret Garden. I guess I don’t read much classics after I left school, being a literature student I had my fill of classics and ancient poetry (LOL)

    I figured when I grown old enough to sit in a rocking chair for hours without feeling guilty, I will probably take a chance at reading classics again.

    • Haha I haven’t read Don Quixote but its the name of a famous store here in Japan! Haha maybe I should skip it and just watch the movie too. Was the movie any good?

      I don’t speak Japanese well but I asked my husband who’s Japanese and he said that its aspartame. Let me know if we can help more!

  2. I love The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. Native Son by Richard Wright. Sense and Sensibility, A Farewell to Arms by Hemingway. I loved Lord of the Flies as a kid. And anything by Flannery O’Connor. I’ve gotten more into a non-fiction mood as of late.

    • I’ve never read The Bell Jar! I’ll definitely have to check it out. Those are some classics I’ll have to re-read though.. I can’t remember enough about them!

      • The Bell Jar is a book that you seem to love or hate. It’s dark if you’ve never had an episode of depression, but if you have then it just describes it perfectly. It’s like finally someone understands what you’ve been feeling. I told my parents to read it to get a better understanding, but they didn’t want to read something so “dark”.

      • Sylvia Plath was one of my favorite poets in high school. I didn’t know that she wrote a book! I just read that this book was an introspective into her own depression, and she committed suicide just a month after it was published. It must be really dark and real. I ordered it and can’t wait to read it! Thanks for the rec! :)

Leave a Reply

