Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Frosting

Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting

I’ve been playing all week with my new stand mixer, and it’s wonderful!  First, I had the urge to over mix everything, but that turned out really dense, yucky cake.  So after a few batches of failures, I got tired of ‘oooo’-ing and ‘ahhhh’-ing at my mixer and made these oh-so-fluffy and light vanilla cupcakes from Sweetapolita.  They’re so light they almost remind me of angel food cake, but just heavy enough to hold the frosting on top.  These are so moist and scrumptious that my husband and I couldn’t stop eating them plain without frosting.

Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting

 

But of course everything is better with frosting, right?  With such a basic cake base, I thought I’d jazz up the frosting a bit with strawberries with this recipe from Brown Eyed Baker.  I just love the strawberry bits and the natural pink of this frosting.  Since I have a mixer, I stepped up my usual frosting and made a Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting.  I felt like my vanilla cupcakes were already sweet enough so I decreased the sugar in the frosting by 1/3.  The consistency of this frosting was a little bit soft though so I might have to play with it a little more.  I need to practice my piping too!

Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Swiss Meringue Buttercream Frosting

 

I’ve been complaining about dense cupcakes for awhile now, and I was hoping my stand mixer would solve the problem.  I also started weighing my ingredients, changed my method of blending the ingredients, and made sure that all of my ingredients were at room temperature before blending.  Since I changed all of these at the same time, I’m not sure which had the biggest effect on the density of my cupcakes, but I’m going to continue doing all of these from now on.  The results are incredibly light and fluffy (have I said that too many times now?).

Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes in Glossyboxes

I’m toting these cupcakes to my students today so I put them in my Glossyboxes!  Aren’t the boxes too cute for words?

9 thoughts on “Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Frosting

  1. Hi, I’m just wondering if you’re able to buy your baking supplies in bulk (or even bigger sizes than what’s found in most grocery stores in Tokyo) at a reasonable price? I have only seen larger size icing sugar and flour in the grocery section of the Tokyu Department store.

    Also, weighing your ingredients will probably have a bigger impact during high humidity periods in Tokyo (especially typhoon season) but over mixing will definitely make your cupcakes dense. I think it creates a lot more gluten or something. Plus, I just found out that they have different types of flour here… strong vs. weak. Haven’t tried either as my faithful mixer arrives next week but I would be interested in hearing your experiences.

    • Hey Derek! A fellow Tokyo blogger! I visited your site and I’m loving all of your adventures :)

      For bulk baking/cooking supplies, I either visit Costco (or order from Yoyomarket), order online, or run to Kappabashi. There are a few bulk wholesale food supply stores there. I buy powdered sugar there by the kilo. It runs about 2000 yen (?) – it’s not cheap, but it’s imported from France and much more convenient than buying tons of those teeny pouches from the supermarket. If you search, there should be a domestic one for cheaper. You can also find some of the supplies on Amazon (and probably Rakuten).

      Good point about the humidity – that makes sense. I was so surprised to find that I was actually overmixing by hand! But hopefully that’s solved and no longer an issue.

      About flour in Japan, I read a great article explaining it: http://murasakishikibu.blogspot.jp/search?q=flour

      Are you a big baker/chef? What are your favorites?

      • Thanks for the tips! I’ll definitely have to check those out. I prefer to bake cupcakes as i find they’re the most satisfying since you can bake, decorate and eat pretty much immediately. Other things you have to chill the dough, wait for it to rise, etc. However, I’ve started recently trying out French pastries like macarons & éclairs. Still lots to master but definitely a fun challenge.

      • Wow! I’m not that advanced yet – I’ll have to wait and see how you do it on your blog. And I agree about the cupcakes – my first few never make it to the plate after frosting :)

  2. Lucky, LUCKY students. They look so super yummylicious. I’m sold from the box alone, and then I saw the frosting. Tsk, can you send them over to Angola? ;)

    Maybe I miss it, but what colour of kitchenaid did you get?? I’m saving for one too. Oh, they are so drool worthy. Any complaints so far? Do they live up to their singsongs and praises?

Leave a Reply

