Your Thoughts: Foodie Pen Pals Asia?

Do you remember when you would get a package or letter in the mail when you were a kid, and how excited you would be?  It was always the highlight of my week, and that’s why I had multiple pen pals – even from my friends just across the street!  Now that I’m a bit older, mail has become synonymous with bills and junk, but I just found this awesome program that makes it fun again – foodie pen pals!

If you were like me and haven’t heard about foodie pen pals, here’s how it works.  You sign up, and every month, you’ll receive the name of a blogger or blog reader who will be your ‘pen pal’ that month.  Within a $15 limit, you put together a box of local food and goodies from your hometown and ship it to your pal along with a little note.  On the last day of the month, all the bloggers blog about what they received!

I don’t know what rock I’ve been hiding under that I didn’t hear about this – or maybe I selectively ‘forgot’ it since it wasn’t available in Japan.  So far, foodie pen pals are only available in the US, Canada, and UK through The Lean Green Bean and Rock Salt.  I’m sure there are some custom/shipping regulations that make this program a little harder to adapt to Asia, but my ultimate question to all of you bloggers and readers is…  

If I were to start a foodie pen pal program in Asia*, would you be interested?

Imagine how amped up this would be in Asia*!!  There are some nice localized products within US and Canada, but it’s nothing in comparison with the variety of products in Asia.  All of our countries have such different foodie options, snacks, ingredients, flavors, and spices that make them so special!  My mind is reeling with all the great options I could send from Japan alone.

I love food and foodie gifts, which was the inspiration for my blog and my blog’s title (‘omiyage’ is Japanese for a souvenir from your travels, typically in food fashion) so I naturally LOVE this idea.  I’m wondering if there are any more of you out there like me?  Maybe we could start with a small group from various countries to test out shipping, customs, and all those other details?  After we work out the kinks, we can open it to everyone!  If you’re interested (either now or for the future), leave me a comment below or drop me a message at ohmyomiyage@gmail.com.

*UPDATE: After some thought and feedback, I’m opening this up to any bloggers or blog readers internationally.  If you’re interested, please contact me by the end of the week, 9/8.  I’ll be putting together the details, and contact those involved with the info!

38 thoughts on “Your Thoughts: Foodie Pen Pals Asia?

  1. Hi there, I love this idea of yours a lot :) And I would like to be part of it too ^^ I am kinda restarting my passion to blog again and this will be a great ongoing topic ^^

    • Yay! I’m glad I’m not the only one interested in this! :) Can I ask where you’re located? I saw some Japanese on your blog – are you in Japan too like me?

      • In Japan? I wish! That will be my lifelong unattainable goal. I am located in Singapore. Thank you for following my blog ^^

      • Of course! I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts :) Come visit Japan when you have a chance! Once I gather a few foodies, I’ll get back to you on how it’ll work – hopefully within the next week!

      • Well, I’m afraid most of the time I am in North Carolina–but I’m in a very “foodie” part of the state! I suspect my rating will fall then! I travel to Italy for business a few times a year, though.

      • Oh no worries! We still love North Carolina :) Sorry – that was my fault. A lot of expats (me included) miss hometown favorites that are harder to get abroad so I’m sure your stock will still be in demand :) Thanks for clearing that up for me!

  2. I only just started reading your blog, but this sounded like too much fun to not comment! :) Count me in!

  3. Pingback: Foodie Pen Pals International: Test Run « oh my omiyage

  4. Omoshiroi..!!! :)
    Konichiwa.. I’m from Indonesia..
    Unfortunately i have to save money until april next year.. I’m planning to visit japan, it spend a lot of money.. :grin:
    I hope i can participate next year..
    Ganbatte!!

  5. Is the international food penpal still happening? If so, I’d love to be a part of it! I live in South Korea and would love to ship someone some food goodies from here!

    • Hi Beka! Sorry it’s taken me such a long time to reply to you. Yes it’s still happening – our next box will be in February. I’ll be sending an e-mail to you soon!

Leave a Reply

