Hummingbird Cupcakes

When I heard about Hummingbird Cupcakes from Brown Eyed Baker, I just knew I had to try it!  A cupcake filled with pineapple, coconut, banana, and nuts? Yum!!

Hummingbird Cupcakes Mini Cupcakes Plated with dried blueberries

Unfortunately, I still haven’t figured out the ins and outs of Japanese flour.  It doesn’t react and work the same way as all-purpose flour back home.  My cupcakes never rise enough leaving them too dense and doughy.  Not to mention that I haven’t been able to get my frosting the right consistency – it’s way too thick.  But that might be a problem I have to blame on myself and not Japanese ingredients.  :)  If you have any advice about baking in Japan or baking in general, I’d love your feedback!

2 thoughts on “Hummingbird Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Cupcake Love « oh my omiyage

  2. Pingback: Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Frosting « oh my omiyage

Leave a Reply

