Wedding Cake Centerpieces

For my wedding, I always dreamed of being surrounded by beautiful, extravagant floral decorations – cascading flowers everywhere!  But since we had a destination wedding, my dream turned into a nightmare where my guests and I wouldn’t be able to enjoy and savor all of the beautiful flowers after the big event.  Although I’m in love with flowers, it’s so sad not to be able to enjoy them for as long as they can last.  So instead, my planner and I decided to go for centerpieces that highlighted my other love and that guests would be able to thoroughly enjoy – cake!

My original idea was to use fruit centerpieces, which I found some beautiful inspiration for here.  But since I was planning to use satellite cakes anyways, my planner suggested that we place one cake on each table as centerpieces so they could multitask before being eaten!  And boy did they multitask for us!  We used them as centerpieces, table numbers, dessert, AND with cute to-go boxes, guests brought cake home for a late night snack.

I was a bit worried since many of the ideas online looked tacky.  I really wanted to use peonies, but since they weren’t in season in Hawaii during out wedding time, I opted for spider mums and fancy carnations.  Luckily, with cute flowers and placement, we were able to get a mini version of the “cascading flowers” that I wanted along with centerpieces that wouldn’t go to waste at the end of the night.    Plus, there were less things to clean up at the end of the night!  Benefits all around :)

13 thoughts on “Wedding Cake Centerpieces

  1. Pingback: Our Wedding Photos Are In! « oh my omiyage

  2. Pingback: A Korean American Wedding | oh my omiyage

  3. Pingback: Love Letter Weddings, Hawaii | oh my omiyage

  4. Pingback: Wedding Feature on Aisle Planner | oh my omiyage

Leave a Reply

