Japan’s Cultural Taboos and Unwritten Laws

Japan is a culture classified by order, trust, and loyalty.  You can see this in everyday life in Japan – how everyone stands on one side of the escalators, how most Japanese people trusted the government during the nuclear crisis, and how cohesive Japanese culture is even overseas.  Since moving to Japan, I’ve discovered a hidden phenomenon in Japan of dark cultural taboos and unwritten laws that most tourists and expats don’t hear about.  I thought I’d start a new series uncovering these underground – and sometimes not so underground – cultures.  Here’s a sneak peek of what’s to come:

(via)

(via)

(via)

(via)

4 thoughts on “Japan’s Cultural Taboos and Unwritten Laws

  1. I love japanese tattoos. Wrote an article about it some years ago, and I’m planning to translate it to English and publish it in my blog.
    Anyone interested in Japan should check out the BBC show Japanorama.

  2. Ah… host/hostess clubs, my friend (girl) is fascinated by it. Personally, guys skinnier than me are really not appealing at all. lol! But I have to agree, sub-culture is always so much more interesting than mainstream, and there are so many there given how the Japanese like to pigeon hole and categorize everything!

    • I was fascinated by it when I first moved here too! Now I’ve moved on and I’m fascinated with the mafia culture and the new religions. I think it’s such a hoot that the hosts and hostesses even have their own magazines that actually sell!

Leave a Reply

