Nijo Market: Sapporo’s Smaller Tsukiji

On my way to Sapporo, I imagined carrying boxes and boxes full of crabs and scallops to feast on back in Tokyo.  So of course, I had to visit Nijo Market!  I had high hopes for Nijo, but I was surprised that it’s just one block long and filled with almost purely crabs and only a handful of shrimp mantis, scallops, and melons.  I was also surprised at how touristy it was, and the vendors were pushy.

The crabs ran from about 2,000 to 15,000 yen each (yes.. EACH!) plus 1,500 yen for shipping.  They’re shipped boiled but not frozen.  According to the vendors, they just need to be eaten within 3 or 4 days of receipt, but that sounds a bit food poison-y to me!  I expected them to be cheaper, but it’s almost the same prices as Ameyoko in Ueno without the shipping fee.  I saw my dream of boxes of crabs crawl away.  I’ve heard that the best way to get fresh and reasonable crabs is online!  I’m off to Google to search and will report back with my results!

 

2 thoughts on “Nijo Market: Sapporo’s Smaller Tsukiji

Leave a Reply

