DIY Destination Wedding Welcome Book: What to Include

Front and Back Cover of our Welcome Book

On Friday, I shared my DIY welcome books from our wedding.  This project took me awhile for two reasons: I needed to decide what information to include and how to present it.  Although there are a few good resources online (i.e. Wedding Bee), there were so many lists of information that I had to figure out what would be important for my guests.  Here’s what I thought was chose to include:

  • Welcome Letter
  • Event timeline
  • Map of all event locations
  • Hotel accommodation information
  • Taxi and Airport shuttles numbers with reasonable rates
  • Wedding event transportation (we provided transportation for our guests since the venue was a 40-minute drive from where the guests were staying)
  • Recommended activities
  • Fun Checklist

And because we had a mix of guests from Japan and the States, I added:

  • A tipping guide
  • Useful English phrases and a 5-minute Japanese lesson
  • Guide to furoshiki
Although this book took a lot of time to put together, I had so much fun designing and figuring out what would be most helpful for my guests!  It was so gratifying when the guests thanked me for keeping them all informed, and it was even more exciting when all of the guests arrived on time (even if I didn’t…)! :)

Our welcome letter and a fun Hawaiian-themed checklist

Event timeline

Hotel, Taxi, and Wedding Transportation Information

Map of all Wedding Event Locations

A quick language lesson for English and Japanese speakers

All about furoshiki

Are you making welcome books for your guests?  Or were you the recipient of a welcome book?  I’d love to hear all about your plans or what you liked best!

20 thoughts on “DIY Destination Wedding Welcome Book: What to Include

  1. Thank you so much for sharing!! I love the way you incorporated the japanese and english, how thoughtful! Congrats on your marriage!

    I’ll be working on mine over the next couple of months…hope you don’t mind if I ask you more questions! My name is Karen by the way… A reader from Seattle, washington :)

    • You’re so welcome! Good luck making your books – I’d love to see your end result :) Of course you can ask me questions any time! I’d be happy to share whatever info I can to help you out!

  2. You are fantastic. This is perfect for my family and friend’s OOT bag. Thank you so much for sharing your hard work. They look fabulous. Getting married June 9, 2013 in Maui.

    • Hi Amanda! Congratulations on your wedding! I hope you had a wonderful time in Hawaii :) If you’re a blogger, definitely link me up to any photos! I love seeing wedding details :)

    • Hi Samantha! Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond! I actually used Photoshop Elements to make these. A bit cumbersome, but it got the job done since I’m not so professional.. and I’m a cheapo :) I’m sure they would look so much better if you used InDesign or Illustrator!

  3. Your OOT booklet is so perfect! I’m having my wedding in Oahu at the end of the year and am so inspired by your ideas. Can you tell me how you coordinated your post-wedding picnic?

    • Hi Christina!

      Congratulations on your wedding! We loved having our wedding on Oahu. I’m sure yours will be great too! Our picnic was really casual. We had it at Kuhio Beach Park, and it was catered by Neil at Kiba Cafe. He was awesome all around. If you’re planning something casual, I can’t recommend him enough! He was really easy to work with, set up his own tent, brought enough disposable serving ware and drinks for everyone, and cooked on location. Everyone was raving about the food!

      He provided almost everything I needed. Other than that, my wedding planner helped me pick up malasadas for dessert from Leonard’s. If you need a planner, I couldn’t recommend her enough either – Louise Moriarty from Love Letter Weddings. My hubby and I brought some surfboards so we could hang out with people on the water if they wanted to learn to surf, and the kids brought the beach toys that I provided for them the night before (Dollar Store stuff)!

      Let me know if you need any referrals or any other advice! No need for you to repeat any research I’ve already done :) Best of luck with the planning!

      xoxo

      • Thanks for the info! This is exactly what I’m looking for! I tried to find Neil’s contact info but couldn’t find anything. Would you mind sending me his email or phone number?

        Thanks! Christina

        On Thu, Aug 8, 2013 at 9:15 AM, oh my omiyage

      • Thanks for replying so quickly! I tried to look up Neil’s information but couldn’t find his contact info. Would you mind passing his information along to me?

        Thanks again!

      • My planner found him at the local farmer’s market where he has a stand every week. He doesn’t have a permanent shop, which is why he’s hard to find :) But don’t worry because when you e-mail him, he’s really responsive. I’m e-mailing him to see if he doesn’t mind me publicly posting his address here. If you’re in a rush, shoot me an e-mail at ohmyomiyage@gmail.com, and I’ll connect you guys!

        :)

  4. Pingback: Wedding Feature on Aisle Planner | oh my omiyage

  5. Love the booklet! Do you mind sharing how you assembled them/the process of creating them? Thanks!

    • Hi Kristen! Sorry for the late response – somehow the comment got lost! I created them using Photoshop Elements (there are also some free programs you can download). I actually printed them on my home printer on card stock and binded them using bakers twine. If I were to change anything, I would have paid the extra cost to have them printed professionally, but for my very DIY wedding, it worked out fine!

    • Hi Brittney,

      I know! I wish I could use Photoshop, but I’m too cheap to put up the moolah :)

      Unfortunately, my files were on my old external hard drive that died on me *wah wah wah*. I wish I could help! Best of luck with yours though!

  6. Hello, I love your Wedding Welcome Book for Out of Town Guests! Just wondering if I can purchase the file from you and then I can fill in my own details? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

