All About Jet Lag

(source)

I’m back in Tokyo and can’t wait to show you our Christmas party pictures later this week!  I meant to edit them today, but instead, I took a little nap.  My body still hasn’t gotten over jet lag.  So when I woke up, I did a little research…

Jet lag is your body’s inability to adjust its internal clock to the new time zone.  This includes your body’s natural rhythm for sleeping, eating, hormones, and body temperature.  Traveling west to east tends to cause more jet lag than east to west.  I find it amusing how when I’m jet lagged, I wake up in the middle of the night craving dinner or I feel like having lunch during breakfast.

Things that don’t cause jet lag:

  • Length of flight
  • Crossing the international date line
  • Traveling north or south
  • Crossing 1-2 time zones (typically)

I feel 2 out of these 5 symptoms.. I’ll let you guess which ones:

  • Fatigue & lack of sleep regularity (duh..)
  • Headaches
  • Irritability
  • Mild depression
  • Constipation or diarrhea

How to get over it (I never do any of these!!)

  • Avoid caffeine and alcohol (especially on the plane)
  • Drink a lot of water
  • Avoid irregular sleeping or eating
  • Get some sun
  • Reset your schedule a few days before you leave
  • Melatonin supplements could help

For me, I find that keeping busy once you get to your home or destination forces you to get over jet lag. Hmm… maybe I should get started on those photos!

2 thoughts on “All About Jet Lag

Leave a Reply

