Stores I Miss the Most…

For me, coming back home is synonymous with family, friends, mom’s home cooking, and shopping!  There are so many stores that I miss when I’m in Japan.  It’s mostly the stores that stock the essentials or the one-stop shops.  Here are my favorites and what I miss the most from them…

Trader Joe’s

Ohh if I could bring the wine and cheese section from Trader Joe’s back to Tokyo, I would be in heaven.  Wine and cheese are much more expensive in Tokyo (as most of it is imported).  I also stock up on a few bottles of sparkling juice, their freeze-dried fruits (mango is a must), berry granola, and chocolate.

Williams Sonoma

My mom and I can spend hours here browsing cooking essentials, cute cupcake sets, seasonings, and other perfect gifts.  We also like watching their cooking tutorials (although sometimes I noticed that they don’t wash their hands as much as they should… eww).  Here, I pick up Sprinkles cupcake mix, special seasoning, and other mixes (such as their Bouchon line).  They make great gifts or are perfect for those lazy days when I don’t feel like cooking from scratch (shhhh.. don’t tell :P)!

Kroger

Nothing like a typical grocery store to put a huge grin on my face.  I miss the aisles filled with over 20 different types of canned tomatoes, cheap fruits and vegetables, an abundance of American steaks, and the convenience of having a Starbucks right inside it!  I always stock up on cooking essentials that are expensive or hard to find in Tokyo: certain types of vinegar, spicy horseradish, hot sauces, my favorite ice cream, and Lucky Charms (those are more personal essentials than cooking essentials!).

Hobby Lobby & Michael’s

Need I say more?!? I can’t count how many times I’ve wished these stores had a location in Tokyo!

Honorable Mentions: Bloomingdale’s, Saks Fifth Avenue, Bath & Body Works, Victoria Secret, Sephora, and intimacy.

One thought on “Stores I Miss the Most…

  1. I am glad that even though I live in Canada, I am close enough to the border to shop at TJ’s and Victoria Secret. I am also glad that the majority of the junk food choices stay on the other side of the border. :)

    Two things the states (generally) does not have that we do: Dill pickle and ketchup flavoured chips. (and yes, I did spell flavour will a ‘u’!)

Leave a Reply

