Shabu Shabu at Home

Shabu Shabu is one of the easiest and most satisfying meals on a cold, winter day.  The name of this meal comes from the sound the thin pieces of beef or pork makes when you swish it in the hot water (do you hear it? shhhhhaabu shhhhaabu).  Although you can make this anywhere you live, there is no better place to find shabu shabu beef than in Japan, where beef marbling is king.  Like my husband and I like to say, “Fat is goooood!”

(source)

Ingredients (for 2):
3/4 pint water
5″x5″ piece of dried kelp
1 pound beef or pork, sliced very thinly
1/2 package tofu, drained and sliced into 1″ thick pieces
Package of mushrooms (enoki or shiitake)
1/8 Napa cabbage leaves, washed and cut into 2″ pieces
1 package harusame noodles

For the sauce:
Ponzu or peanut sauce
Grated daikon
Grated garlic

Directions:
1. Let kelp sit in a pot of water for 10 minutes. Heat the water to a boil with the lid on. When water starts to boil, remove the kelp.

2. Place the vegetables and meat on separate plates. Place the pot of boiling water over a portable cook top on a table. Put the vegetables into the pot in small serving sizes. As it is ready, remove the vegetables and dip it into your sauce.

3. To cook the meat, hold a slice of meat with your chopsticks and wave it back and forth slowly through the water until it is cooked to your liking (pork should be fully cooked). Remove it from the water, dip it into your sauce, and eat!

4. To make the sauce, add grated daikon and garlic to ponzu sauce in one bowl. In another bowl, add the peanut sauce. Dip your vegetables and meat in sauces as you like.

7 thoughts on “Shabu Shabu at Home

  1. Gosh sorry I totally didn’t see this till now. We do it pretty much like you. We do bean sprouts too, I like mitsuba as well, udon, I don’t eat meat so I try to add as many vegetables as I can. My daughter would eat shabu shabu every day if I let her :)

    • Yeahh we love it when we feel like we’re lacking in our vegetable intake! Ooo I didn’t know that you’re a vegetarian – I heard it’s hard to keep to your dietary restrictions when you live in Tokyo!

  2. I’m not full on vegetarian, still eat chicken and fish, just no red meat/pork, so it’s not that hard. I started reading about the Blood type diet and decided to cut the meat and dairy, for health reasons. I do miss the pork though….that buttery yummy pork….lol!

    • This is my first time hearing about a blood type diet! I’ll have to check it out. Although I’ve considered trying to be a vegetarian, I’m not sure if I could do it! The beef and pork in Japan are so amazing!

  3. Oh yeah you should check it out! I’m in no way fully compliant to the diet yet, I’m taking it slow, but it has already made a huge difference for me..

Leave a Reply

