Individually-Packaged Homemade Meals

Living overseas, there nothing like the holiday season to make me want to be in two places at once.  Christmas isn’t an official holiday in Japan (it’s a holiday for couples to go on a date and book a room at a love hotel) so my husband doesn’t get vacation until New Years.  With my parents in the US and pooped from a whole season of jet setting, I’ll visit them later this month for 2 weeks and be back in Tokyo to celebrate official Christmas Day with my hubby.

My husband doesn’t focus on food when I’m away especially if he has a busy work schedule.  On a good day, he’ll grab ramen – a yummy meal, but not a balanced diet for 2 weeks straight. (This is the only time I’ll say something bad about ramen.  It has a lot of calories, fat, and salt.  That’s why it tastes sooo good!) On a more usual day, he’ll pick up 2 onigiri (rice balls) from the convini as “dinner”.  As much as I love onigiri, it blows my mind how he equates 2 cold rice balls with a meal.

The solution: frozen meals.  Whenever I go on a long trip, I stock our freezer full of individually-packaged homemade meals – everything he’ll need until I get back.  I like to think that it’s kind of like being there with him… though I’m thousands of miles away.  So for the next week or so, I’ll be cooking up a storm.

On the menu:
Chinese Fish Maw Soup
Minestrone
Napa Cabbage and Pork Dumplings
Spicy Beef Noodle Soup
Wonton Noodle Soup
Soy Sauce Chicken with Straw Mushrooms
Chicken a la King
Glazed Pork Chops with Cranberry Sauce
Sweet Adzuki Bean Tapioca Soup
Pumpkin Pie
Fruit (all washed and cut)

I’m off to the kitchen – it’s time to check some of these off the to-do list!  What are your favorite meals to freeze for later?

6 thoughts on “Individually-Packaged Homemade Meals

  1. These are amazing bento boxes. I’ve never seen ones like this. Thank you. (I also really like your header. I have the same theme, and use rotating cropped photos, but yours looks really great)

Leave a Reply

