Simple Homemade Plum Sorbet

Japanese Plum Sorbet

Japanese Plum Sorbet with Yuzu Mochi

I promised a few weeks ago that I would attempt to use an ice cream maker, and with the weather getting extremely hot and humid this week and my freezer emptied out, it was perfect timing. I happened to have a box of plums in my fridge that I probably wouldn’t have finished, but turn it into sorbet, and I couldn’t get enough!

Japanese plums are smaller and juicier than the plums I’m used to in the States.  They’re a little bit bigger than the size of a golfball.  I love their bright and vibrant color.  I’m not sure if they’re exclusive to Japan, but I haven’t seen them elsewhere.

Japanese Plums

Japanese Plum Sorbet

I arranged the sorbet into little parfaits with marshmallows, 2 scoops of sorbet, some yuzu mochi, and a decorative orchid for color.  Now with my first attempt at sorbet out of the way, I feel confident enough to use even nicer ingredients.  Kyogo grapes here I come!

Simple Homemade Plum Sorbet
Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:
1/2 – 3/4 cups sugar
3/4 cups water
450 grams plums (about 8-10), roughly cut with pits removed*
*If you can’t find Japanese plums, regular plums will work too

1. Make a simple syrup: Put the water and sugar into a small saucepan on low heat. Stir the mixture until the sugar dissolves fully. Turn off the stove and let the syrup cool completely.

2. Blend the plums in a food processor and pulse on low speed about 10 seconds. Increase the speed and continue to blend until smooth.

3. Press the plums through a fine sieve. This should yield about 3 cups. Discard the leftovers.

4. Mix the plum and syrup together thoroughly and place this in the fridge for an hour.

5. Remove the mixture from the fridge and place it in your ice cream maker for about 25 minutes. Serve as is or place the sorbet into an air-tight container and put it in the freezer for another 2 hours for a harder consistency. Serve as you like!

11 thoughts on “Simple Homemade Plum Sorbet

  1. Pingback: Fruit by the Frozen Spoonful Melon Sorbet | Not Your Mama's Rag

  2. Pingback: Intensely Blueberry, Blueberry Sorbet « Familosity

  3. Pingback: Tokyo Desserts & Cafes « oh my omiyage

  4. This looks wonderful! I’m looking for as many ways as possible to preserve the soon-to-come plums! (season hasn’t fully started here yet)

  5. Pingback: Ginger Melon Sorbet | Enlightened Lotus Wellness

Leave a Reply

